in , ,

Telangana to get big push to Rail Infrastructure

Hyderabad railway station for image representation

The creation of the new zone, SCoR, will leave SCR, one of the top revenue generating zones in the country, mostly for State Telangana.

With the Ministry of Railways announcing the new zone, South Coast Railway (SCoR), the majority of South Central Railway (SCR) will now be dedicated to Telangana and provide impetus to rail infrastructure and hasten up ongoing projects in the State.

The creation of the new zone, SCoR comprising existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijayawada divisions and a part of Waltair division with headquarters at Visakhapatnam, will leave SCR, one of the top revenue generating zones in the country, mostly for Telangana.

Read More: Hyderabad-based ham enters Limca Book of Records

Once the new zone is carved out as announced by the Railway, the SCR comprising Secunderabad, Hyderabad and Nanded divisions will be officially formed. The 50-year-old zone stood as one of the busiest zones on Indian Railway map ferrying over 30 crore originating passengers across the country every year. The SCR officials point out the creation of a new zone would mean more exclusive annual funds for the SCR which in the coming years would transform into more plans and rail infra initiatives for Telangana.

According to officials, reformation of SCR could witness new lines, the introduction of new trains to different destinations apart from speeding up the works on on-going projects and allocation of new projects. Though SCR zone also includes Nanded division, Secunderabad and Hyderabad divisions will have a stronghold in the upcoming budgets. Earlier, Railways was blamed of earmarking a major share of the developments and projects to Andhra Pradesh and ignoring the State. This despite Secunderabad division contributing almost 50 per cent of revenues to the zone particularly in the form of goods earnings followed by passenger earnings.

According to statistics, in the SCR zone, Telangana was ignored which gets clearly reflected in the electrification works. Out of the total 2,926 km electrification route, works on 2,246 km were completed in Andhra Pradesh while in Telangana, only 886 km stretch was electrified as against a total of 1,822 km route. The SCR currently includes six divisions — Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Vijayawada, Guntakal, Guntur and Nanded which predominantly serve Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Maharashtra and limited parts of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

Follow us on FacebookTwitterYou tube and Instagram.

What do you think?

134 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by admin

Level 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Hyderabad-based ham enters Limca Book of Records


Prisoners now have a new face for their creativity